Moxie's Jetsam

My journey to jettison the jetsam out of my life and make room for new growth and abundance.

Drive-Thru danger

Photo credit: Yahoo images via Jleesblog.com

When I lived in NYC, I walked everywhere. Mostly out of necessity, but also because I wanted to feel the pulse of the city that I love. There was so much great food in the city, even for a girl on a very tight budget. Vegan places, Ethiopian food, Little Italy and Gray’s Papaya all just a few steps away. You can bet I made some unhealthy food choices (near-daily slices of pizza), but my weight stayed under control. Heck, even when I worked my butt off (literally) and lost 50 pounds, pizza was a regular part of my diet.

I attribute it to two things: activity level and stress level.

I wish I had worn a pedometer, because I’m sure 10,000 steps was a no-brainer for me in those days. On top of that I would work out regularly. Plus dance classes, Tai Chi and choreography. My body was always in motion.

Contrast that with my current sedentary lifestyle. Eight hours in a chair at a desk. Driving everywhere. Sure, I still walk about a half an hour a day with Archie, my faithful pooch, but it’s not even close to being the same.

Then there’s stress. Yes, in NYC I was often overworked, stressed out and felt like my life was unmanageable. But I was pursuing my passion.

When I was in high school, I would roll home at an ungodly hour, having suffered through a terrible community theatre rehearsal. I would sit on the edge of my mom’s bed, crying about how it wasn’t fair, complaining about how the adults didn’t know their lines. In her half-slumbered state, my mom would pose a simple suggestion. “If it’s so bad, don’t do it anymore.” Don’t do it anymore? Rediculous! My emotions weren’t guiding me to stop doing it. I loved doing it. I just wanted it to be better. (I have a feeling that’s going to be a theme in upcoming posts…)

That’s what it was like in NYC. Stressed, but on the right path. Scared, but excited.

Fast forward to now. Even though I am so lucky to have creative peers who invite me to join their amazing projects (Up the Creek and Revolting are great examples), and I have earned the trust of many arts organizations to create some projects of my own, my life is no longer singularly focused on pursuing my passion.

I’ve been feeling a little lost lately. Actually, I’ve been feeling directionless for several years. It’s the quarter-life crisis I never had.

Part of this project is to jettison the clutter in my mind. The past was the past. It lead me to where I am today. And I must believe that right now, I am exactly where I’m supposed to be. But the other part is to jettison my unhealthy habits. Which brings me to the title of this post. I am banishing drive-thrus from my lifestyle. If I don’t walk into the place to eat, I’m not eating there.

As I continue learning from Mastin Kipp at The Daily Love, every day is a new start. It doesn’t have to take a big eye-opening moment or launching a big project (like this blog). I can start again right now. Or now. Or… now. And so can you.

Click to tweet with me: It’s a new start. @thedailylove via @moxiesjetsam

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2012 by in body jetsam, mental jetsam and tagged , , .
